Seattle Design Festival 2015 – Part 3 PARK(ing) Day

I’m now in the middle of week two of fall quarter so it’s taken me a little longer than I would have liked to get all my photos posted.

On the 18th Aaron & I biked all over the Belltown & Pioneer Square neighborhoods of Seattle to visit, photograph, and talk with the hosts of 13 parklets for PARK(ing) Day.

PARK(ing) Day is an annual worldwide event where artists, designers and citizens transform metered parking spots into temporary public parks.

This was the first year I had gotten over to Seattle for Parking Day. It was fun to see the different ideas.

The best one, Aaron & I both agreed, was the Bubble Garden by Olson Kundig. You can’t really see from this picture but they had bubbles all over. They were blowing out of bubble machines and people were making huge bubbles with yarn and dowel bubble makers. Passers by couldn’t help but stop and take a quick picture or join in.

Another one that I thought was a great idea was a charging/texting/calling park designed by Ankrom Moisan. The icons on the sidewalk encouraged you to move into the park to use your cell phone instead of while walking. Then they had a “phone booth”, desks, cubes to sit on, and a charging station.

The National Park Service had two parks, one in Belltown and this one in Pioneer Square in front of the Klondike Gold Rush Museum. At first I wasn’t even paying attention to the people waving at me, I was more interested in the framing of the whole park and the Smith Tower and Columbia Center above. I’m glad they were paying attention to me though.

More photos on Flickr.

Leave a Reply

