My boy is 16 today!

Forest you were born at 7:00 PM. Dad was home for two weeks after training and before going to South Korea. You were born the night before he was supposed to leave but the Red Cross got him one more week of leave to be home with us. You didn’t get to see him again for 8 months.
You weighed 6 lbs. 6 oz. and measured 19 3/4 inches. When Hayden was born he was tense, screaming and eyes wide open. You had a soft, lazy little cry and just wanted to go to sleep.  You spent the next year watching Hayden run circles around you and getting snuggled by your grandmas and aunts. You loved to be held and loved on.
I appreciate your independence even though as a teenager that usually means trouble. I know that you will grow up to be a strong man. I appreciate your helpfulness as well. You can tell when I’m stressed at dinner time and frequently jump in to ask what you can do.
So now that I’ve publicly humiliated you, I’ll add a picture or two to top it off. I love you Forest.


A little blurry but still so cute.


One of my absolute favorites.

A few more here, on my flickr account.

5 thoughts on “My boy is 16 today!

  1. Love seeing those pictures! Could it have been so long ago? They were so adorable and different!

Leave a Reply

