Holiday Traditions

Part 1 maybe?  No promises.

Most every year my mom would make a cheese ball or two around Christmas and even though I grew up with an aversion to most nuts I still loved this cheesy goodness on a cracker.

Well for the past several years, I have been making them too.  Although I find the log shape to be easier to cut off of.

This evening we had friends over for dinner and I had a couple of cheese logs out on the table.  While I filled the house with the smoky goodness of seared steaks everyone sat around the table listening to Dave’s stories and munching on crackers and cheese.  I’m lucky enough to have a thoughtful husband who snagged some on a little plate for me because it didn’t take long for the logs to disappear.

I even use the same recipe that my mom used, which she got from my dad’s cousin, Aunt Gale.  A few cousin’s on Facebook have asked for the recipe so here it is.

Gale’s Cheese Ball

8 oz cream cheese, softened
1 C cheddar cheese, shredded
4 sm green onions, chopped
1 pkg chopped ham  (My mom told me the little packages of Buddig lunch meat, I just pull 6-8 slices out of whatever sliced ham I have and chop it up.)

Mix well, shape and roll in chopped pecans.  Refrigerate, preferably overnight.
~Gale Keim

Leave a Reply

