catching up on sewing stuff

I remembered that I had never posted pics of the gifts I made for Christmas last year.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get pictures of everything.  The gifts to my brother’s family ended up being so late that I didn’t even think about taking pictures.  So here are some pics of things I’ve made up till now.

For Aaron’s brother-in-law, last Christmas, I made a blanket for his truck.  The denim was new but the fleece was thrifted.

For his sister I made an apron because she loves to cook.  It’s the same pattern as the one I made for me and modeled in my jammies.  I was thrilled to find a duvet cover at the thrift store in the colors of her kitchen.

I don’t have the exact instructions from Brandy’s Wreck this Journal page but it was something about wearing your journal.  So I asked her for a small section of the page which was black and made her a necklace, and a few others while I was at it.  They aren’t super fantastic but they were fun to make anyway.  I kept one and then she sent one to our sis and one to her best friend.

I fell in love with these kidlets when I first saw the tutorial and jumped at the chance to make them for Hope’s baby shower.

Aaron has been walking to work since June and started begging me to make him a backpack.  After searching for sometime I found this design that I really liked and wanted to try to re-make.  It was a bugger but it turned out awesome and Aaron LOVES it!  It’s made out of a used military laundry sack and the patches on the front are from the units he served in while in the Army.

 

Now I seriously need to get busy on the rest of this year’s gifts.  Christmas is creeping closer and closer.

 

***edit***
I forgot about the messenger bag I made back in September for myself for school.  I used this tutorial and this embroidery design (I love Urban Threads, they make we want an embroidery machine.)

It ended up being too small for school so it’s now my church bag and I found a brown curtain panel at the thrift store that will be my backpack after I’m done with Christmas sewing.

7 thoughts on “catching up on sewing stuff

  1. Keli, you are amazing! All that you make looks so professional. I love love love those little pink and white baskets. They would be perfect for storing some of my girls’ new christmas gifts or their dress-up stuff. I think I will be digging out my sewing machine soon! I’m so glad you shared.

  2. OK, and I just checked out the website you got the directions for the kidlets from and although hers are cute, I really like yours better. :) I love the fabrics you put together. You are very talented.

    1. Thank you Megan! The kidlets are super simple. The most time consuming part was figuring out how I wanted the patchwork pockets. I hope you post pictures if you make some. I would love to see them.

  3. wow, you are a gift makin’ super girl. I love your messenger bag with the mushrooms! Thanks for the linkage to the tute. That backpack and the kidlets are so great too, makes me want to sew some.

  4. I love seeing what you have made! You are so very talented. I wish I could take some sewing lessons from you. :)

    Oh, did I ever tell you that I made two of the capes for Halloween. You know…the ones I was supposed to make for Christmas two years ago. The kids loved them! I didn’t end up lining them like I had originally planned, but I was happy with how they turned out.

    1. I’ve felt bad that we didn’t get them done so now I’m glad you got them done. Did you take pics of the kids at Halloween? I want to see. :-)

Leave a Reply

