indigo girl

for sixty-four colors group.

as i recall this shot was right around the same week as the SB1070 being signed in AZ.  no an itunes card has nothing to do with immigration and neither does the color indigo but as my facebook feed was being bombarded with the ugly hatred, and complete disregard for human life that so many people seem to have i kept thinking of one of my favorite indigo girls songs, let it be me.  the lyrics seemed so appropriate. 

sticks and stones, battle zones
a single light bulb on a single thread for the black
sirens wail, history fails
rose-colored glass begins to age and crack
while the politicians shadowbox the power ring
in an endless split decision never solve anything
from a neighbor’s distant land
i heard the strain of the common man

let it be me (this is not a fighting song)
let it be me (not a wrong for a wrong)
let it be me, if the world is night shine my life like a light

well the world seems spent
and the president has no good idea of who the masses are
well i’m one of them and i’m among friends
trying to see beyond the fences of our own backyard
i’ve seen kingdoms blow like ashes in the winds of change
but the power of truth is the fuel for the flame
so the darker the ages get there’s a stronger beacon yet

let it be me (this is not a fighting song)
let it be me (not a wrong for a wrong)
let it be me, if the world is night shine my life like a light

in the kind word you speak, in the turn of the cheek
when your vision stays clear in the face of your fear
then you see turning off a light switch is their only power
when we stand like spotlights in a mighty tower
all for one and one for all
then we sing the common call

let it be me (this is not a fighting song)
let it be me (not a wrong for a wrong)
let it be me, if the world is night shine my life like a light

i don’t like to be too public about political views because it can cause such strong disagreements.  i don’t like confrontation!  but this is my blog and i get to say what i want.  and that’s all i have to say about that.

listening to: indigo girls- rites of passage- let it be me (of course)

Leave a Reply

