Am I finally growing up?

I said before that I’ve never been a big goal setter.  That part of the Young Women’s program didn’t really stick with me.  So resolutions at this time of year don’t really do anything for me.  But I am a list maker.  Pretty much every week I sit down on Sunday or Monday and write up a bunch of things I need or want to get done that week.  I never really expect to finish them all but they provide me with a guide to help me get back on track as I get distracted through out each day.

I have had a very strong urge to make some goals or resolutions for this year.  Have I finally matured enough to need to set goals?  Maybe not quite, instead I started my ultimate to-do list for 2010.  As my own way of celebrating the Boy Scouts centennial anniversary, I am making up a list of 100 things, most small and menial, that I want to accomplish this new year.  I figure that’s just less than 2 things a week added to the other everyday things, completely doable.

Each and everyday I find myself ignoring things around the house that need to be done.  I always file them in the back of my brain not to be thought of again, until next time I trip over it.  So here is where I will fill in and check things off.  It’s not terribly interesting.  It’s for me of course.  As of now I only have 58 things but that’s just one day of trying to dig up all those things I’ve said, “I’ll do that someday.” 

So someday is this year!

Listening to: U2-Pop (most of the album)

4 thoughts on “Am I finally growing up?

  1. I’m usually good with following through with what I want to do, but I stunk at YW goals. I was so busy with the goals I was already completing and my leaders would say, “You can just mark that down”, but I felt like that was cheating, plus most of my stuff fell under one or two categories. I really dug my heels in when they wanted me to make stuff because I stink at it.

    Good luck with all of your goals! :)

  2. What a good idea! You’ve inspired me, maybe I’ll do 28 since I’m turning 28 this year. I always forget new year resolutions but maybe if it’s in the form of a To Do list I’ll actually remember to do them! Thanks Kel! Love Ya.

  3. That is awesome! Are you going to post your list? I have been working on a list myself, but haven’t decided if I am going to post it. 100! You can do it!

    1. Kim the “here” link and the “So someday is this year!” link both go to the page. Plus right under the header is the permanent link to the page, “100 in 2010.”

Leave a Reply

