fresh greenery, yummy soup & fun sisters

Last Monday our Relief Society president hosted a centerpiece making event at her house.  He garage was filled with the wonderful smell of fresh cut pine and juniper.  Tubs lined one wall, full of ribbons, leaves, holly, berries….  all the trimmings.

I debated going because of the busy afternoon looming before me but I finally gave in and went.  I’m so glad I did.  Several ladies stood around tables arranging their works of art and visiting.  I love these chances to get to know ladies in our ward.

Then inside the kitchen Diane had her island covered with goodies, hot chocolate, apple cider, cake, cookies, fruit and this weird looking pot of what looked like, well never mind.  It was so gross looking I just had to see what it tasted like.  (Taste how gross it is though!)  It was warm, savory heaven in a bowl.  Soooo good.  I got the recipe from her and made the Italian Wedding Soup for dinner the next night.

The picture is not great but I wanted one to go with the recipe.

Italian Wedding Soup

from Frankie’s Pizza & Pasta

4 Tbls  Butter
2 C  finely diced onions
2 C  minced carrots
1 C minced celery
1 C  basil pesto
6 C  chopped spinach
2 qt chicken stock
1 lb finely diced cooked sausage
1/2 lb Acini di Pepe pasta (or Orzo)

In a soup pot, sauté onions, carrots, and celery in butter until soft.  Add basil pesto, stir until it is evenly mixed.
In a large sauté pan, sauté spinach until it just starts to wilt.  (I just used frozen spinach,thawed and drained, and added it to the onion mixture.)
Add sausage, spinach and stock.
Stir and simmer for 10 to 15 min.
Add pasta and cook for an additional 5 to 10 min.
ENJOY!

Makes about 10 servings, I think.

2 thoughts on “fresh greenery, yummy soup & fun sisters

  1. Isn’t Diane awesome? I’m planning on making the soup on Wednesday. Mary made it another night and my friend Yvonne is always talking about Italian wedding soup. I can’t wait to surprise her!

    I’m still insanely jealous that your blog is snowing.

Leave a Reply

