Disclaimer.

For any new readers-  I am a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, otherwise known as Mormon.  I tell you this because I use terms in my posts that may not make sense if you aren’t a member of our church.  So on with our regularly scheduled program…

You know those conference talks or Relief Society lessons where we are admonished to slow down, cut out the things in our lives that don’t matter?  Well, I guess I chose not to follow that counsel this month.  First I signed up for National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo,) which means I was pledging to post to my blog everyday.  Then I signed up for International Comment Leaving Week (IComLeavWe.)  What am I thinking?!!  This IS November you know, two birthdays and Thanksgiving to take care of and I should be working on homemade Christmas gifts.  But alas I joined anyway.

The NABloPoMo project has actually been easier than I thought.  I was very worried that I would run out of things to write about.  But I know what’s making it easy is the month of gratitude I tacked onto it.  I am really enjoying taking a minute each day to sit down and think about what I’m grateful for.  It’s made me more and more aware of the blessings I enjoy.  I know I’m not going to torture myself by signing up again in December but I hope to in January.

IComLeavWe started yesterday.  How fun just the first two days have been to find new blogs & meet new people.  I recommend it to anyone for next month.

So first I’m grateful for teachings from our church leaders, even when I don’t heed them, and I’m grateful for the inspiration of a friend to recognize the blessings in my life more, and I’m grateful for the opportunity to meet new people from so many different walks of life.

Normally this is where I post what is currently playing on my ipod or on last.fm.

Instead: being greatly distracted by the sounds of my house- Grayson reading, Ethan doing dishes to Coldplay, Hattie telling me for the umpteenth time today that she’s still hungry (I swear the girl is going to end up being 6 foot tall) and Hayden & Forest discussing Warhammer.  Is that water I hear running upstairs?!!

Technorati Tags: ,,
Categories: Fun

2 thoughts on “Disclaimer.

  1. Yeah isn’t it a little bit crazy to do NaBloPoMo *and* IComLeavWe in the same month? IComLeavWe is year-round but for some reason wasn’t known to me until this month! So convenient! ;)

    I totally hear ya on the needing to slow down and cut back thing.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  2. isn’t it something how we’ve hung in there? yay us! and i know what you mean about the gratitude part….it’s that wonderful “whipped cream” on top, that brings it all together, and to be savored slowly. this posting each day sure has brought a new skip to my step this month, and been just the thing i needed to reconnect the two sides of my brain and my heart. grateful for that :)

Leave a Reply

