Happy Birthday Ethan!!

This time of year is incredibly busy for us.  4 out of 7 birthdays take place between Nov 8th and January 2nd.  Add Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s and I feel like all I do is think about gifts and bake cakes or pies.  Mmmmm pumpkin pie!!!

Well the 19th was Ethan’s 10th birthday.  We had pancakes for breakfast because birthday person always gets to pick the day’s meals.  Honestly I think he would be completely happy if I just let him chug the syrup.  After dinner and scouts he got to open the two gifts we that Hayden and I had for him.  I made him a sock monkey.  He LOVED it!!  He he was telling me thank you every time he looked at it.  It fit him perfectly.  I call him my Chango or monkey because he loves to climb trees and loves to show me just how high he can go.  He’s totally fearless.

 I can climb this tree.

Hayden gave him a rock collection that he had put together when he was 8 or 9.  We had gotten him a cool box and helped him label all of the rocks.  It was really cool but his interest was very short lived.  Ethan had started a collection because in Science this past term they were studying rocks and minerals.  He would carry it to school and back everyday in an old wipes box.  :}  So when he unwrapped Hayden’s recycled gift, he was totally surprised and really liked it.  Now he lugs it around by it’s handle but we need to get him a bigger case to hold ALL his rocks.  He then built himself a rock tumbler out of a peanut jar and K-Nex.  We even tried to connect it to a little motor but it wasn’t powerful enough.  I told him if I had an electric mixer I would let him rig it to the tumbler but I have a tendency to kill those with all the cookies I make.

We waited till Friday evening to have birthday dinner and cake and ice cream.  He wanted BBQ burgers and chocolate cheesecake.  So his friend and birthday twin came home on the bus with him and then his family joined us after dinner.  Anastasia, said friend’s mom, brought another cake and we sang to the two hoodlums.  We also gave Ethan a card with cash because lately that’s what the kiddos like getting.  They like going out and buying their own stuff and they can save for a while for something big. 

SO, Hope you had a good birthday Ethan!!  We love you and your sweet, lively spirit!!!

 What a goof!

Listening to: The Sundays- Static & Silence- Monochrome

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Ethan!!

  1. HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY FROM ALL OF US TO YOU!
    HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY MAY ALL YOUR DREAMS COME TRUE!
    WE WISH IT WAS OUR BIRTHDAY SO WE COULD PARTY TOO!!

  2. Whew….what a busy time for you. I thought Jared had it bad because we have Thanksgiving, our anniversary, Christmas, & my birthday within 5 weeks.

    I love your sock monkey. He’s is so stinking cute. I think I will attempt one for my kiddos for Christmas.

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

