Summer Swim

Hattie and I gave some friends/neighbors a ride down the hill today for an appointment.  I thought while we where out we would stop by the body shop to have the estimate done on our van from a teensy fender bender a couple of weeks ago.  After the gentleman took pictures and checked out the van he said he needed to go in and put all the info in his computer.  While he did that Hattie and I walked next door to 7-11.  We headed straight for the Slurpee machine.  Hattie picked Wild Cherry, dropping a little on the rug.  I chose pina-colada.  I took the first sip and was immediately flooded with memories of summers spent at our small town swimming pool.  I’m not sure why this flavor would induce that but I know it has something to do with the ever popular snack bar.  I don’t think it’s even there anymore but it was a huge hit when I was young.

If you could turn this view to the right you would be looking at  a wall with the doors to the lobby in the center and the bathrooms on either end.  Above the bathrooms and lobby were the office and a loft area where they had the snack bar. 

They stocked individually wrapped Jolly-Ranchers, Laffy-Taffy, Gobstoppers, and licorice for like 5 cents I think; chips, sodas, corn nuts….  It was heaven for a young girl who raided her mom’s coin purse before going.  Or if said mom had paid her to pick all the dandelions out of the front yard, a penny a piece.

I have such fond memories of getting dressed after our session and purchasing all the candy I could with my/mom’s meager change.  Then I’d sit by the half wall that was really more of a fence and watch the life guards looking busy.

Now I hate taking my kids to the YMCA to swim.  So many rules: no diving toys, no balls, you’re too short to go on the slide, blah, blah, blah…  They take all the fun out of it.  AND NO SNACK-BAR!!!!

Listening to : R.E.M.- The Best Of The I.R.S. Years 1892-1987- Hyena

One thought on “Summer Swim

Leave a Reply

