…—…

I think in my first blog I mentioned the movie "An Inconvenient Truth."  I was very tired that night and didn’t say much about it.  It was a very interesting movie.  I don’t know how much of it is completely accurate but I think it held a lot truth.  I think everyone should see this movie.  I know not everyone will like it or agree with it but EVERYONE should see it.  I clicked on a link this evening on MSN call "Live Earth", next to a picture of AL Gore.  It was a link to a 40-something minute long announcement of a huge concert that is being put together to raise awairness of Global Warming and the crisis that our earth is in right now.  Here is the link to the video:  http://video.msn.com/v/us/v.htm?g=e7556976-588c-423c-80ed-d074e259de15&f=01/64&fg=copy
And the link to the MSN "Live Earth" website.  Not much to see on it right now but you can sign up for alerts.
 
As a side note to the topic of global warming, I was reading in 2 Nephi chapter 8,  I found this verse:
 6 Lift up your eyes to the aheavens, and look upon the earth beneath; for the heavens shall bvanish away like smoke, and the earth shall cwax old like a garment; and they that dwell therein shall die in like manner. But my salvation shall be forever, and my righteousness shall not be abolished.
 
If you look at footnote a) it refers to 2 Peter 3:10:
10 But the aday of the Lord will bcome as a thief in the night; in the which the heavens shall cpass away with a great noise, and the delements shall melt with fervent heat, the eearth also and the works that are therein shall be burned up.
 
I felt very strongly that this was referring to what we are calling global warming.  And I have believed for some time that the climate changes we are seeing will be part of the destructions we will face before Christ comes again.
Now I’m not one to say "well, the scriptures say that it’s going to happen so we can’t do anything about, why try?"  I also believe that we were given this earth to live on and to sustain us but that we have also been told to care for it and the way we are living is not taking care of it.  I firmly believe that we need to make changes in our lifestyles.  Not just for the health of our planet but for our own health.  I cringe at the thought of what all the pollutants in the air do to our bodies when we breath them in. 
 
I was a little perplexed at the part of 2 Nephi 8:6 that says "and they that dwell therein shall die in like manner."  But then I thought, could that be referring to the poisons we put in our bodies everyday that are slowly killing us?  I don’t know, just a thought.
 
So I will get off my soapbox for now.  I think I’ll forget about all the troubles of this life and go watch Pride and Prejudice.  Gotta love Jane Austin!!!!!
 
Leave a Reply

